The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) covers and set a standard for the learning and development of children, with the safeguarding and child protection requirements of a provider of early years care.  These requirements are given legal force by an order made in section 39(1)(a)and (b) of the Childcare Act 2006. Children from birth to 5 years of age will require a form of education and care under The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS),

All early years providers that are Ofsted-registered must follow the EYFS, to ensure children are happy, kept safe and healthy, develop and learn to these standards.  These providers include Childminders, Day Nurseries and Nursery School, Reception Classes at Primary School and Pre-schools.

Providers of EYFS must ensure there is a secure foundation planned around the interests and needs of the individual children in their care, these being reviewed and assessed regularly.  The early years setting must make sure each individual child is included and supported well with a consistent and quality of educational care they need to help them make progress.  The EYFS encourages the involvements and working with parents/carers, this is essential in the consistency of the child’s learning journey

For the development and learning covers 3 prime area and 4 specific areas, these are;

Prime areas are

  • Communication and Language (CL)
  • Physical Development (PD)
  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development (PSED)

Specific area are

  • Literacy  (L)
  • Mathematics (M)
  • Understanding The World (UTW)
  • Expressive Arts and Design (EAD)
To Top